Two Chelsea players send Germany to the 2022 World Cup

2022 World Cup
share to others

Germany has become the first European country to secure a place in the 2022 World Cup set to take place in Qatar. This followed their 4-0 thrashing of North Macedonia in Skopje.

Germany was placed in Group J alongside Romania, North Macedonia, Armenia, Iceland, and Liechtenstein. They have won seven games out of 8 fixtures with the only defeat coming against the same opponent earlier in March.

Hansi Flick’s side has scored the highest number of goals alongside England, with 23 goals scored in the Qualifiers. With two more games remaining in the qualifiers, Germany has already opened up an unassailable eight-point lead at the table.

In the game in which Germany dominated, the North Macedonians made it difficult for the Germans. It took for the second half for their resistance to being broken. Thomas Muller unselfishly provided Kai Havertz with a pass for an easy tap-in to open the scoring in the 50th minute. He will be substituted ten minutes later.

Muller was again the provider for Timo Werner as his through-ball over the top found the Chelsea striker and he finished it with aplomb. Werner will grab his second three minutes later curling an effort from inside the box.

Musiala will complete the demolition in the 83rd minute after coming on for Timo Werner.

Rudiger did not make the bench as he is still struggling with a back injury.

How European teams will qualify for the 2022 World Cup

The UEFA World Cup qualifiers have 10 groups (from A to J). Five of these groups have five teams and the other five have six teams. The group winners will qualify for the 2022 World Cup directly.

The runner-ups in each group will engage in a play-off with the two best teams from the Nation League ranking (the two teams must have finished below the top two qualifying positions in their groups respectively).

Three teams will qualify for the 2022 World Cup finals after the play-offs.

share to others

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.