Chelsea Squad Numbers for the New Season Confirmed!

chelsea squad numbers
share to others

With Chelsea having confirmed all outgoings and signings ahead of the new season, they have gone ahead to assign new jersey numbers to players. We will take a look at Chelsea’s squad numbers for the already started season.

Romelu Lukaku will wear the vacated number 9 jersey evacuated by Tammy Abraham. His signing comes at the same time with the switch of Tammy Abraham to the Italian team, Roma now being managed by former Chelsea boss, Jose Mourinho.

He will look to emulate the footstep of team legends such as Didier Drogba, Gianluca Vialli, Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink who delivered with the jersey.

The jersey is regarded as a curse since many players have struggled with the weight of the number. Fernando Torres, Mateja Kezman, Hernan Crespo, Khalid Boulahrouz, Alvaro Morata, Gonzalo Higuain, Radamel Falcao are part of a long list of strikers who never delivered wearing the number 9 jersey in Chelsea.

Kovacic has switched from his old number 17 to wear number 8, the previous number held by Chelsea goalscoring midfielder Frank Lampard.

Saul Niguez, a new arrival from Atletico Madrid will take over the number 17 jersey. He previously wore the number 17 at his former club in his first two seasons. He later switched to number 8. Pedro is the last Spaniard to don this jersey for Chelsea.

Tino Anjorin will depart to Russian Locomotiv Moscow on loan for the new season after signing a contract extension till 2023.

Chelsea squad numbers for the 2021/22 season


1 Kepa Arrizabalaga

16 Edouard Mendy

13 Marcus Bettinelli

36 Lucas Bergstrom


2 Antonio Rudiger

3 Marcos Alonso

4 Andreas Christensen

6 Thiago Silva

14 Trevoh Chalobah

21 Ben Chilwell

24 Reece James

28 Cesar Azpilicueta


5 Jorginho

7 N’Golo Kante

8 Mateo Kovacic

12 Ruben Loftus-Cheek

17 Saul Niguez

19 Mason Mount

27 Tino Anjorin


9 Romelu Lukaku

10 Christian Pulisic

11 Timo Werner

20 Callum Hudson-Odoi

22 Hakim Ziyech

29 Kai Havertz

share to others

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.